Member States and Other Participants

1 Member States

Afghanistan Algeria Angola
AzerbaijanBahamas  Bahrain Belarus Bangladesh
Barbados Belize Benin
Bhutan Bolivia Botswana
Brunei Darussalam Burkina Faso Burundi
Cambodia Cameroon Cape Verde
Central African Republic Chad Chile
Colombia Comoros Congo
Congo Democratic Rep Cote d’Ivoire Cuba
Cyprus Djibouti Ecuador
Egypt Equatorial Guinea Eritrea
EthiopiaFiji Gabon Gambia
Ghana Grenada Guatemala
Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana
Honduras India Indonesia
Iran Islamic Rep Iraq Jamaica
Jordan Kenya Korea Democratic People’s Rep
Kuwait Lao People’s Democratic Rep Lebanon
Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahirya
Madagascar Malawi Malaysia
Maldives Mali Malta
Mauritania Mauritius Mongolia
Morocco Mozambique Myanmar
Namibia Nepal Nicaragua
Niger Nigeria Oman
Pakistan Palestine Panama
Papua New Guinea Peru Philippines
Qatar Rwanda Saint Lucia
Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal
Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore
Somalia South Africa Sri Lanka
Sudan Suriname Swaziland
Syrian Arab Republic Thailand Togo
Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkmenistan
Uganda United Arab Emirates Tanzania United Rep 
Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela
Viet Nam Yemen *Yugoslavia
Zambia Zimbabwe

2 Observers

Within the framework of the need to promote the opening of the Movement to the contributions of other actors in the international arena, the current practice is to admit states as observers to the NAM meetings. States, which fulfil criteria for admission as members, will have the option of applying for observer status.
Observers may attend and, with the Bureau’s permission, address the Plenary of a Summit Conference or Ministerial meeting. They shall not participate in Committees nor in the meetings of NAM working groups, contact groups or task forces. The procedure for admission of members will apply for admission of observers.

The following countries are observers of the Movement :

Argentina Armenia Bosnia and Herzegovina
 Brazil China people Republic Coasta Rica
Croatia El Salvador Kazakhstan
 Kyrgyztan Kazakhstan Kyrgyztan
Mexico Paraguay Serbia
Tajikistan Ukraine Uruguay


 3 Observer Organisations

  • Organisation of the United Nations
  • Afro-Asian People’s Solidarity Organisation (AAPSO)
  • Common Wealth Secretariat
  • Kanak Socialist National Liberation Front
  • League of Arab States
  • Organisation of African Unity (OAU)
  • National Hostosian Movement for the Independence of Puerto Rico
  • Organisation of the Islamic Cooperation (OIC)
  • South Center
  • World Peace Council

4 Guest countries

Interested States, Non-governmental organisations and relevant Non-governmental organisations are invited as guests to the Summit and Ministerial Conferences. There is no permanent guest status.
Guests are invited on an ad hoc basis to each Summit and Ministerial Meeting. The invitation is issued by the host country after due consideration by the Coordinating Bureau. The current guests of the Movement will be included in the list provided by the Coordinating Bureau. Guests only attend the opening and closing ceremonies of the Conference and do not have the right to attend and participate in the deliberations.

The following countries and Organizations were invited as guests to the XVIth Tehran Summit:

Albania Greece Republic of Korea
Australia Ireland Slovakia
Austria Italy Slovenia
Bulgaria Japan Spain
Canada Macedonia Sweden
Cyprus Malta Switzerland
Czech Republic Netherlands Russian Federation
France New Zealand Former Yugoslav
Finland Poland Turkey
Germany Portugal

Guest Organizations: 

  1. Conference on Interaction and Cooperation in Asia (CICA)
  2. Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO)
  3. Egyptian Council for Foreign Affairs
  4. High Commissioner for Refugees (HCR)
  5. International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)
  6. International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)
  7. Islamic Development Bank (IDB)
  8. Organization for Economic Cooperation (D8)
  9. Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)
  10. Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)
  11. The Japan Council against Atomic and Hydrogen Bombs